Vex Factor

I can’t keep it in any longer. I have to say something about this year’s X Factor. I’m sorry. And Hi, by the way. It’s been a while, where have you been? What? I’ve been right here! Yes I have!

So, I have to say this. I am stunned by the amount of people who are surprised by the success of the twins. Every Saturday and Sunday, the computer keyboards of the nation are hissing with furious anti-twins Facebook statuses. “I can’t believe they are still in! what are the public thinking of! I can’t believe it!” etc etc. Well, here’s the thing, people, and are you ready for this, because you may need to sit down. The X factor is not a talent show. Cue panto crowd: “Oh yes it is!” Oh no, it isn’t. It is a quest to find the people who will make the most money and make the public tune in, therefore, making the TV and record companies a lot of money. Talent is just a little part of it. Have you seriously not worked that out yet? The more anti-twins fury that exists, the more people watch the show. Duhhhhhhh!!

The twins telephone votes are probably the result of ITV executives fervently pressing redial over and over again, dizzy with excitement at the resulting ratings when the twins survive another round and everyone tunes in to see how bad they are going to be next week. There is also the small matter of the X factor audience being heavily populated by little girls, who don’t give a Barbie if they can sing or not because they are young and good looking.

I cannot join in the anti twins fury of the nation, as I find them hilariously funny, in a mean way since they are only funny due to being so rubbish. I am happy for them to stay in, I’d much rather watch them stumbling around the stage than listen to a talented but boring singer. If that’s what you want I suggest you investigate the work of Katie Melua.

This entry was posted in Noel's Telly Addicts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vex Factor

  1. A very good point. I do hate the twins meerly because of the fact that they cannot sing, but as you’ve said, its not just a talent show. Besides, keeping them in the competition will encourage more people to vote against them, hence, more profit for the bosses. I have to be honest, I have never really follwed the show as much as i had this year-only because I want to see how the twins will go out!

  2. Tasha says:

    Finally, somebody speaks some sense!

  3. RK says:

    Even my mum knows who Jedward are and that truly is fame. They’re up there with Madonna and the Spice Girls…

  4. hayley says:

    I should point out for any other readers (oh, the optimism) that RK’s mum lives in Finland…

  5. Pingback: John and Edward: X-Factor’s biggest asset? « Thoughts into Words

  6. Pingback says:

    I have the mis(?)fortune of only seeing one episode (last week) or Xfactor this year as I live in an area with insufficient tv signal – so I have felt very left out of the shenanigans – however I totally agree and what I would say is that everyone in Ireland is voting for the twins as the people in Scotland have previously for say Leon (where is he now) Jackson and Michelle (how big or little is she now) McManus. So as I’ve only seen one – I dont actually care anymore which is a shame cos I usually do.

    • hayley says:

      No signal for X Factor, that’s a shocker. They should have to declare that sort of thing on the survey before you move. You could probably claim some kind of compensation, speak to Lovejoy about it.

  7. kasper says:

    Hi Hayley, how’s it going? I have to confess I haven’t seen any of X Factor (I saw 10 minutes of it about 3 years ago and it exasperated me), but I’m morbidly fascinated by these twins… I see their picture everywhere, I hear people saying they can’t sing, yet I just can’t bring myself to look them up on youtube or some such in case I’m disappointed by them not being bad enough. Please, tell me- are they really that awful? I do so wish it to be true… I mean, look at that hair.. and those faces… what monsters have we created?

    “And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.” -Nietzsche

    • hayley says:

      Yes, they really are. It’s not so much the singing, it’s the dancing, which is for me the most entertaining aspect cos one of them always is half a beat behind the other and continually looks a bit lost and confused, like he dozed off in the middle of his Physics GCSE and woke up to find himself on stage. Check them out, you’ll enjoy it, although you have missed the best one which is where they recreated Britney’s Oops I Did It Again video:

      Jedward to win!! Well OK, maybe not win…um….Jedward to be in it for a long time due to high comedy factor!! get over yourselves, Jedward haters!!

Leave a Reply

