April art challenge: Into the woods (via the recycling box)

into the woodswebThe theme of the latest art challenge was ‘Into the woods’. Given that most of my family portraits are set surrounded by trees, this theme is well within my comfort zone, so I really wanted to try something new. I did consider using a completely different medium, but spent so long umming and ahhing and changing my mind that suddenly the deadline arrived and I had done precisely nothing. So, instead, as used it as an exercise in loosening up, and it was well overdue.

When you spend all day trying to capture likenesses without adding detail, there’s not much room for spontaneity, and it can take hours to get it right. With this drawing I made the decision to complete the whole thing within 10 minutes. If I didn’t like something, I stuck a bit of cardboard over the top and started again. It is a mess. There’s no getting away from that. But it’s quite a nice mess – I am a fan of the cardboard. And I do feel like I’ve had a bit of a creative workout.

 

 

This entry was posted in pretties, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

